top of page

Chad McGlynn Scores Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series IMRV 100 Victory at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- With all eyes on the championship battle for the Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series, the rest of the field was set on stealing the glory with a trip to victory lane.

Starting the 100 lap feature from second spot, Chad McGlynn would make his way to the lead with a pass for the top spot on Lap 31. He then led the rest of the way en route to his second LOSC victory of the season.  Michael Hryniuk made the mid-race charge through the field en route to a runner-up finish.

Entering the night, Kevin Gallant and Connor James were tied for the top spot in the standings. Gallant held the early advantage with the quickest lap in time trials (16.141 seconds), and led the opening 31 laps of the feature. James’ night, meanwhile, did not start off as smoothly. He would qualify fifth, before being involved in an early race incident.

James fought back, making the pass by Gallant in the final laps of the event to finish third, and be crowned the 2019 Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series. Gallant finished the event in fourth, with Kevin Allen rounding out the top-five.

Brady Smith finished sixth in his only LOSC start of the 2019 campaign, followed by Kevin Trevelin, Alvin McNicol, Doug Cathcart, and Scott Laporte. Brandon Huras finished 11th, followed by Bob Merrifield, Anthony Folino, BJ Harrison, and Brent Wheller.

Canadian Vintage Modifieds

Steve Trendell picked up his fourth victory of the 2019 season ahead of Max Wright, Daryl Henwood, TJ Marshall, and Mike Podd. Ian McIntyre and Amanda Stoner finished sixth and seventh, while Bill Stoner, Mike Klotz, and John Karley failed to finish.

Mike Podd scored his fourth win of the 2019 campaign ahead of TJ Marshall, Steve Trendell, Daryl Henwood, and Amanda Stoner. Ian McIntyre finished sixth, while Max Wright, Bill Stoner, and John Karley failed to finish. Mike Klotz did not take the green flag.

Klotz Auto Repair & Engine Machine Shop Mini Stocks

Erik Dalla Riva picked up his fifth victory of the 2019 season ahead of Karl Sault, Kyle Steckly, Kaitlyn Wallace, and Dylan Sharpe. Shawn Taylor finished sixth, followed by Mike Hooper, John Istead, Tyler Lewis, and Kyle DaSilva. Jonathan Ayrton and Dave Goodacre rounded out the field.

Dylan Sharpe scored his second win of the 2019 campaign ahead of Karl Sault, Kyle Steckly, Erik Dalla Riva, and Kaitlyn Wallace. John Istead finished sixth, followed by Jonathan Ayrton, Kyle DaSilva, Tyler Lewis, and Dave Goodacre. Shawn Taylor and Mike Hooper failed to finish.

Wendy Adams would fail to start either feature following a crash in practice.

McClurkin Properties Cambridge Pure Stocks

Bobby Mercer picked up his third win in the last three weeks in the first feature ahead of Leo Labarbera, Mark Dennis, Mark Thorne, and Jared Bodnar. Dale Lucas finished sixth, followed by Kyle Lucas, Wayde Thorne, Courtney Scott, and Jeff Kells. Jimmy Hooper finished 11th, followed by Brian Gamble and Reece Bourgeios.

Kyle Lucas scored his second victory of the season in the second feature ahead of Leo Labarbera, Bobby Mercer, Mark Dennis, and Wayde Thorne. Jared Bodnar finished sixth, followed by Jeff Kells, Courtney Scott, Jimmy Hooper, and Brian Gamble. Mark Thorne and Reece Bourgeios failed to finish, while Dale Lucas was disqualified for rough driving.

Pro 4 Modifieds

Mike Westwood picked up his fifth win and eighth straight podium finish in the first feature ahead of Dan Pettit, Mark Lucas, Cliff Hodgkinson, and Shannon Morris. Nick Abballe and Dave Hodgkinson rounded out the field.

Mark Lucas scored his fifth victory of the season in the second feature ahead of Mike Westwood, Shannon Morris, Dave Hodgkinson, and Cliff Hodgkinson. Dan Pettit and Nick Abballe rounded out the field.

Thanks to Spencer Smye of Smye Photography for the photos from Saturday night. You can see more of his images at

This Saturday, September 21, the Grisdale Racing Products Late Models will be back in action with their second last night of points competition. J.R. Fitzpatrick enters the night leading the standings, 46 points ahead of Rick Burbridge. Also on deck are Flamboro Speedway’s own Ray’s Towing & Recovery Super Stocks, Klotz Auto Repair & Engine Machine Shop Mini Stocks, and McClurkin Properties Cambridge Pure Stocks.

The pit gates open at 4pm, followed by the spectator gates at 5pm, with racing getting underway at 6:30pm.

Admission prices, along with the full schedule for Flamboro Speedway this season can be found on the track’s website at Be sure to keep up with the latest by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page