top of page

Father-Son Duo Scores Ontario Pro Challenge Series Victories at Flamboro

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- The Norris family continues to lead the way with the Ontario Pro Challenge Series at Flamboro Speedway, except this time, Mike got a piece of the action.

Tim Norris won the first feature, taking the top spot on Lap 9 and pacing the field the rest of the way. His son Mike Norris finished second, followed by Peter Hattin, Tyler Di Venanzo, and Devon Rayment. Travis Majuery placed sixth, followed by Emma Norris and Ethan Fleet, with Mike O’Connell failing to finish.

The second feature, though, was Mike Norris’ time to shine, as he took the lead on Lap 5 en route to scoring the victory. Tim Norris placed second this time around, followed by Tyler Di Venanzo, Devon Rayment, and Travis Majuery. Peter Hattin finished sixth, followed by Emma Norris, Ethan Fleet, and Mike O’Connell.

Pro Late Models

Saturday served as a perfect opportunity to get a preview of what to expect with the APC Auto Parts United Late Model Series this coming weekend, with several big names getting extra laps around the speedway. Ultimately, it was J.R Fitzpatrick scoring yet another pair of trips to victory lane to make it four for the season.

The first feature saw Fitzpatrick work his way forward from the fifth row to the front, taking the lead on Lap 27 to lead the final eight laps. Josh Stade placed second, followed by Kevin Albers, Mark Burbridge, and Billy Schwartzenburg.

2021 Track Champion Kyle Steckly placed sixth ahead of Matt Box, Chris Howse, Kevin Gallant, and Ty Cavallin. Jake Gilbert finished 11th, with several others failing to finish as a result of issues – Dale Shaw, Blair Wickett, Bill Pearsall, and James Horner.

Fitzpatrick started a little better in the second 35-lap affair, this time taking the top spot on Lap 19 to pace the field the rest of the way. Kyle Steckly was second this time around, followed by Josh Stade, Shane Maginnis, and Mark Burbridge.

Billy Schwartzenburg, who visited victory lane a couple weeks ago, placed sixth ahead of Matt Box, Jake Gilbert, Kevin Albers, and Kevin Gallant. Chris Howse finished 11th, followed by Ty Cavallin, Dale Shaw, and Blair Wickett. Bill Pearsall failed to finish, while James Horner did not take the green flag.

Logan White, unfortunately, failed to start to both features.

Canadian Vintage Modifieds

Two more drivers got to call themselves winners this season, with a pair of fresh faces for 2022 in victory lane.

Ricky Willigar took the top spot on Lap 3, and did not look back en route to breaking through for his first win of the year in front of TJ Marshall, Mike Podd, Quintin Murdoch, and Rodney Rutherford. Joe Arsenault broke some of his bad luck with a solid sixth, followed by Scott Tonelli, Steve Murdoch, Jae Pepin, and John Karley. Unfortunately, Connor Ross did not take the checkered flag.

The invert worked in Steve Murdoch’s favor, as he was able to lead every single lap of the second feature ahead of Rodney Rutherford, Mike Podd, TJ Marshall, Scott Toenlli. Ricky Willigar drove his way up to sixth, followed by Connor Ross, Jae Pepin, and Joe Arsenault. Unfortunately, Quintin Murdoch and John Karley failed to finish.

Mini Stocks

The streak is over by Bobby Mercer, as a couple drivers returning to the oval visited victory lane instead.

Samantha Shaw utilized a strong starting spot to lead flag-to-flag en route to winning the first feature ahead of Bobby Mercer, Shawn Taylor, Cole Quinton, ad Mike Thomson. Mike Hooper placed sixth, followed by Cole Ecker and Mike Gilmour. Roland Goodfellow and Johnny Paradzinski each failed to finish, while Matt Young was disqualified.

The invert played a role for Shawn Taylor, allowing him to lead every lap for the second 25-lap affair, with Bobby Mercer once again second, this time in front of Cole Quinton, Mike Thomson, and Samantha Shaw. Cole Ecker placed sixth, followed by Mike Hooper, while Mike Gilmour, Roland Goodfellow, Matt Young, and Johnny Paradzinski did not start the race.

Pure Stocks

A last minute decision to come race paid off for Jo Lawrence, as he drove his way from 13th to the front, taking the top spot in the final laps to win. Gillian Hils placed second, followed by Courtney Scott, Dylan Sharpe, and Kevin Trevellin. Cameron Thomson put together one of his most impressive runs en route to sixth, followed by Kris Lawrence, Wayde Thorne, Kyle Lucas, and Jimmy Hooper.

Leo Labarbera placed 11th, followed by Chance Rogers, Rick Van Kleef, Reuben Fluit, Jordan Fidler, Tyler Weace, and Joe Fluit. Moses Ruiz and Mark Allan failed to finish, while Alex Stewart missed the green due to practice issues.

Gillian Hils got her trip to victory lane, though, taking the lead with eight laps to go to win the second 25-lap affair. Kris Lawrence drove from the tail to finish second, followed by Jo Lawrence, Dylan Sharpe, and Wayde Thorne. Kevin Trevellin’s season debut continued on a good note with a sixth, followed by Kyle Lucas, Courtney Scott, Rick Van Kleef, and Leo Labarbera.

Chance Rogers was 11th, followed by Moses Ruiz, Alex Stewart, Jimmy Hooper, and Mark Allan. Cameron Thomson, Reuben Fluit, Jordan Fidler, and Tyler Weace failed to finish, while Joe Fluit did not take the green flag.

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, June 4, with the APC Auto Parts United Late Model Series and Qwick Wick Super Stock Series making their first appearance of 2022. They will be joined by the T.Q. Can-Am Midget Series. The heat races are scheduled to begin at 4:50 pm, with the features scheduled for 6:30 pm. The full itinrary can be viewed on APC Series website.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page