top of page

Kyle Steckly Wins the Second Round of the Grisdale Triple Crown at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- Even though he is a rookie behind the wheel, Kyle Steckly is showcasing that he has the skills to hang with the best in the business.

Just a couple weeks following his first career win, the second generation racer held the checkered flag once again in victory lane on Saturday night at Flamboro Speedway.

It was a perfect night, as he put down the quickest lap in time trials behind the wheel of the No. 24, allowing him to start on the pole. He then led flag-to-flag en route to the victory.

2019 Grisdale Triple Crown Champion Shae Gemmell ran up front throughout the event for a runner-up finish ahead of Shawn Chenoweth, Shane Maginnis, and Rick Burbridge. Mat Box placed sixth, followed by Kevin Albers, Kent Nuhn, David Gallinger, and Kyle Woods.

Unfortunately, a couple incidents took place resulting in Mark Burbridge and Treyten Lapcevich failing to finish.

Going into the final round of the Grisdale Triple Crown, which will take place at Frostoberfest in October, Shawn Chenoweth and Shae Gemmell sit tied atop the standings, six points ahead of Kyle Steckly.

Ontario Pro Challenge Series

Tim Norris continues to show why he’s one of the best in the business when it comes to Ontario Pro Challenge Series competition, scoring the victory ahead of his son Mike Norris in the first feature. Rick Seeley finished third, followed by Larry Majuery and John Dryden. Bryan Stevanus placed sixth, followed by Devon Rayment, Peter Hattin, Mike O’Connell, and Emma Norris.

An invert for the second feature proved to no challenge for the Norris family, with Tim securing the win once again ahead of Mike. Bryan Stevanus finished third, followed by Larry Majuery and Peter Hattin. John Dryden finished sixth, followed by Devon Reyment and Emma Norris. Mike O’Connell and Rick Seeley failed to finish. First Feature à

Mini Stocks

Despite being challenged throughout the entire duration of the feature, Karl Sault was able to hold off everybody en route to scoring the victory. Gillian Hils finished second, followed by Dylan Sharpe, Dale Millard, and Tyler Lewis. Cole Quinton rebounded to sixth following a spin ahead of Wayde Thorne, Shawn Taylor, Mike Hooper, and Mike Gilmour. Kaitlyn Wallace and Dave Goodacre rounded out the field, while RJ Croteau failed to finish.

The invert worked in Shawn Taylor’s favor, as he turned a good starting spot into a victory in the second feature, marking his third win in four races. Gillian Hils scored another runner-up, this time ahead of Karl Sault, Dale Millard, and Tyler Lewis. Kaitlyn Wallace placed sixth, followed by Mike Hooper, RJ Croteau, and Dave Goodacre. Cole Quinton failed to finish following contact mid-race, while Wayde Thorne and Dylan Sharpe wrecked out on the opening lap of the event. Mike Gilmour did not take the green flag. First Feature à

Pure Stocks

Kris Lawrence utilized a solid starting spot of third to his advantage, quickly making his way to the lead. He then led the rest of the way en route to the win ahead of Kyle Lucas, Phil Givens, Rodney Rutherford, and Jordan Morris. Rick VanKleef crossed the finish line in sixth, but was disqualified post-race.

Dale Lucas crossed the finish line in seventh ahead of Mark Thorne, Spencer Riddell, and Alex Stewart. Reece Bourgeois placed 11th, followed by Chase Mitchell, Eric Stewart, Bobby Mercer, Scott Tonelli, Courtney Scott, Jimmy Hooper, Roland Goodfellow, Nicole Stewart, Dan Vis, and Cole Ecker.

Starting deep in the field, Rodney Rutherford made his way through the traffic to win the second feature ahead of Scott Tonelli, Kris Lawrence, Eric Stewart, and Reece Bourgeois. Kyle Lucas placed sixth, followed by Bobby Mercer, Spencer Riddell, Courtney Scott, and Rick VanKleef.

Dale Lucas finished 11th, followed by Chase Mitchell, Alex Stewart, Nicole Stewart, Roland Goodfellow, Cole Ecker, Dan Vis, and Jordan Morris. Mark Thorne and Jimmy Hooper failed to finish while Phil Givens did not take the green flag. First Feature à

Thanks to Derek Smith ( and Peter Anderson ( for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is scheduled for August 21, featuring Spectator Drags. This is when we give our regular spectators in our grandstands the chance to race their regular cars one-on-one against another fan in a drag race around the track. The winner stays on the track to race another fan and when we are down to two cars left, one more lap will give us the winner of a trophy, $100 cash, and the bragging rights of being named the winner of spectator drags.

The Qwick Wick Can-Am Midget Series, Canadian Vintage Modifieds, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, and the Pure Stocks will also be on-hand.

With the province moving into stage three of the COVID re-opening government plan, Flamboro Speedway is allowed to host 75% capacity in the grandstands. No tickets will be sold online, but rather available at the gate on a first come, first serve basis. The spectator gates will open at 5 pm with racing kicking off at 6:30 pm sharp.

Tickets will be $25 for adults at the front gate, $20 for seniors 65 and older, and $5 for children ages 6-12. You can also buy a family pass for $55.00 which includes two adults and up to four children.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page