top of page

Mike Hryniuk Jr. Scores Ontario Sportsman Series Victory at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- A familiar face to Ontario Sportsman Series by NSCA fans graced victory lane at Flamboro Speedway on Saturday night, with Mike Hryniuk Jr. taking the checkered flag.

Although it was Chad McGlynn starting on pole, Mike Hryniuk Jr. was able to take the top spot on the drop of the green flag and did not look back en route to scoring the checkered flag.

Chad McGlynn held on for second, while Lane Zardo made his way up to third after taking the green flag in eighth. Fellow Super Stock regular Cory McAllister and Kevin Trevellin rounded out the top-five, followed by Sean Mangin, Derek McCullough, Brendan Patrick, Mark Patrick, and Chris Sherrah.

Canadian Vintage Modifieds

Quintin Murdoch got his second checkered flag of 2022 by taking the top spot on Lap 7, and not looking back en route to victory. Mike Podd placed second, followed by Steve Murdoch, TJ Marshall, and Rodney Rutherford. Scott Tonelli finished sixth ahead of Jae Pepin, Rob Twichett, and Joe Arsenault, while Ricky Willigar and Brian Pescetti failed to finish.

The invert worked in TJ Marshall’s favor, as he led every single lap of the second feature to win ahead of Mike Podd, Quintin Murdoch, Steve Murdoch, and Rodney Rutherford. Scott Tonelli placed sixth, followed by Brian Prescetti, Jae Pepin, and Rob Twitchett. Joe Arsenault failed to finish, while Ricky Willigar did not take the green flag.

Super Stocks

After watching his teammate win the past couple weeks, Roy Wilkie got to see the checkered flag himself on Saturday night by leading flag-to-flag in the first feature. Lane Zardo finished second, followed by Justin Collison, Gerrit Tiemersma, Chase Pinsonneault, and Randy Rusnell, while Nic Ramsay failed to finish.

Lane Zardo got his time to shine in the second feature, though, snagging the win there in front of Chase Pinsonneault, Roy Wilkie, Gerrit Tiemerma, Justin Collison, and Randy Rusnell, while Nic Ramsay failed to finish.

Mini Stocks

Bobby Mercer’s strangle hold on the division remains intact, as he scored his sixth straight victory in front of Mike Thomson, Matt Young, Kaitlyn Wallace, Mike Hooper, and RJ Croteau. Eric Stewart crossed the finish line in seventh, but was disqualified post-race, with Mike Gilmour failing to finish.

The second feature did not faze him, in repeating the same feat once again. This time, Matt Young played the role of second fiddle followed by Mike Thomson. Eric Stewart crossed the finish line in fourth, but was disqualified once again. Kaitlyn Wallace rounded out the top-five on-track, followed by Mike Hooper, while RJ Croteau did not take the checkered flag. Mike Gilmour did not take the green flag.

Notably, Dave Goodacre signed in for the night, but did not compete in either feature.

Pure Stocks

Wayde Thorne led flag-to-flag en route to winning the first feature, followed by Matt Young, Alex Stewart, Kyle Lucas, and Eric Stewart. Cameron Thomson placed sixth, ahead of Reece Bourgeois, Rick Van Kleef, Chance Rogers, and Moses Ruiz. Mark Allan, Leo Labarbera, and Nicole Givens rounded out the field.

The invert worked in Reece Bourgeois’ favor as she was able to score another feature victory after taking the top spot on Lap 9. Cameron Thomson finished second, followed by Kyle Lucas, Matt Young, and Rick Van Kleef. Moses Ruiz placed sixth ahead of Mark Allan, Chance Rogers, Leo Labarbera, and Nicole Givens. Wayde Thorne, Alex Stewart, and Eric Stewart each failed to finish.

Pro 4 Modifieds

It’s a new season for the Pro 4 Modifieds, but Dan Pettit is still quick as he scored the first feature in front of Shannon Morris, Mark Lucas, Shean Carey, Robert Mercer, and Ken Mercer. Jarrett Nock failed to take the checkered flag.

The invert did not faze Dan Pettit as he swept the night, this time in front of Mark Lucas, Shannon Morris, Robert Mercer, Shean Carey, and Ken Mercer, as Jarett Nock failed to finish once again.

Notably, Nick Aballe signed in for the night, but did not compete in either feature.

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and Shaun Lumley ( for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, May 28, with the Pro Late Models headlining the show, as drivers look to gain laps and experience ahead of the APC Auto Parts United Late Model Series a week later. They will be joined by the Ontario Pro Challenge Series, Canadian Vintage Modifieds, Mini Stocks, and Pure Stocks. Racing will kick off at 6:30 pm sharp.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page