top of page

Rick Burbridge and J.R. Fitzpatrick Kick Off Flamboro Speedway Victorious

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- The long wait for the racing action to return to Flamboro Speedway is over, as the first night is in the books with seven different drivers reaching victory lane.

Late Models

Taking the lead on Lap 2, Rick Burbridge did not look back en route to winning the first Late Model feature ahead of Billy Schwartzenburg, J.R. Fitzpatrick, Kevin Albers, and Logan White. Roland Goodfellow rounded out the field.

J.R. Fitzpatrick showed why he won the championship last season in winning the second feature in front of Kevin Albers, Billy Schwartzenburg, Logan White, and Rick Burbridge. Roland Goodfellow rounded out the field once agian.

Mini Stocks

Shawn Taylor led flag-to-flag to win the first feature in front of Bobby Mercer, Matt Young, Mike Thomson, and Michael Kenny. Kaitlyn Wallace ran just outside the top-five all race long to sixth ahead of RJ Croteau, Mark Grieve, Matthew Smith, and Nikki King. Mike Gilmour rounded out the field, while Gillian Hils did not take the green flag.

Shawn Taylor made it a daily double, taking the lead on Lap 8 to pace the remaining 17 laps en route to victory. Matt Young was second in front of Mike Thomson, Mike Gilmour, and Kaitlyn Wallace. Michael Kenny ran sixth most of the event ahead of RJ Croteau, Mark Grieve, Matthew Smith, and Nikki King. Gillian Hils and Bobby Mercer did not take the green flag.

Pure Stocks

Wayde Thorne shared championship honors last season with Phil Givens, and carried the momentum into winning the opening feature of the season in front of Gary Slama, Chase Mitchell, Spencer Riddell, and Mark Allan. Past division champion Reece Bourgeosis finished sixth in front of Courtney Scott, Leo Labarbera, Chance Rogers, and Cam Thomson.

Rachel Mitchell continued her welcome to stock car racing with an 11th, followed by Donavin Clark, Owen Brooker, Mac Ingram, Mike Hall, Chris Burrows and Danyal Effendi. Rick Mitchell, Megan Mitchell, Allen Mattice, and Brady Cox failed to finish. Jordan Wilms suffered a DQ.

The runner-up left Gary Slama, and he pounced in the second feature on Lap 12, pacing the final eight laps to victory. Wayde Thorne placed second ahead of Spencer Riddell, Cam Thomson,, and Leo Labarbera. Reece Bourgeosis was sixth once again in front of Chance Rogers, Mark Allan, Chase Mitchell, and Jordan Wilms.

Courtney Scott ran just outside the top-10 en route to 11th, followed by Donavin Clark, Allen Mattice, Brady Cox, Rachel Mitchell, Mac Ingram, Chris Burrows, Mike Hall, and Danyal Effendi. Rick Mitchell and Owen Brooker did not finish, while Megan Mitchell did not take the green flag.

Canadian Vintage Modifieds

The speed continues from the No. 15, with T.J. Marshall picking up where he left off in 2023 with a feature win to start the season. Ricky Willigar ran second throughout the entire 25 laps ahead of T.J. Marshall, Mike Podd, and Scott Toneli. Jae Pepin spent most of his feature in the second half of the field en route to sixth in front of Steve Murdoch, Maddux Pepin, Rodney Rutherford, and Samantha Trewolla. Mike Klotz did not take the green flag.

2023 Just Foam It OSCAAR Modified Champion Jason Keen won the second feature ahead of Ricky Willigar, T.J. Marshall, Rodney Rutherford, and Scott Toneli. Jae Pepin was sixth once again, in front of Steve Murdoch, Maddux Pepin, and Mike Podd. Mike Klotz and Samantha Trewolla did not take the green flag.

The next stock car racing event at Flamboro Speedway is taking place on Saturday, May 11 with the season opener for the T.Q. Can-Am Midgets and Ontario Pro Challenge Series. The on-track action will also feature the Pro Late Models and Pure Stocks.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

Report By: Ashley McCubbin


bottom of page