top of page

Albers and Schwartzenburg Victorious on Meet the Drivers Night

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- The sun was shining at Flamboro Speedway on Saturday, and that was a great thing for all of those in attendance. The fans were treated to a great on-track autograph session for Meet the Drivers Night, alongside some great racing on-track.

Pro Late Models

Taking the lead on Lap 7, Kevin Albers led the rest of the way en route to picking up his first Late Model feature victory of 2023 in front of J.R. Fitzpatrick, Cole Quinton, Jaden Chapman, and Ty Cavallin. Logan White’s sophomore campaign continues with a sixth ahead of Chad Corcoran and Billy Schwartzenburg.

The invert for the second 30-lap affair saw Billy Schwartzenburg lead flag-to-flag en route to his second win of 2023. Kevin Albers crossed the finish line in second, but was disqualified following the event. J.R. Fitzpatrick, Cole Quinton, and Jaden Chapman completed the top-five followed by Logan White. Chad Corcoran and Ty Cavallin failed to finish.

Canadian Vintage Modifieds

TJ Marshall took the lead on Lap 7 to win the first Canadian Vintage Modified feature in front of Mike Podd, Ricky Willigar, Scott Toneli, and Jeremy Barton. Quinton Murdoch was sixth, followed by Jae Pepin, Ian McIntyre, Jessie James, and Joey Woolsey.

The second feature saw Ricky Willigar take the lead on Lap 9, pacing the remaining 14 laps en route to winning ahead of TJ Marshall, Quinton Murdoch, Scott Toneli, and Ian McIntyre. Jae Pepin was sixth after running inside the top-five the first eight laps, followed by Jessie James and Woolsey. Mike Podd and Jeremy Barton failed to finish.

Super Stocks

Nick Troback led all 15 laps to win the first Super Stock feature ahead of Roy Wilkie and Kelsey Lamont. Roy Wilkie returned the favor in the second affair, pacing all the laps in front of Troback and Lamont.

Mini Stocks

Mike Thomson took the lead on Lap 5 to win the first Mini Stock feature in front of Shawn Taylor, Mike Gilmour, Kaitlyn Wallace, and Dale Millard. Wayde Thorne faded back to sixth ahead of Michael Kenny, Mike Hooper, Mark Grieve, Nikki King, and Roy Markle.

Shawn Taylor kept his winning ways rolling with a victory in the second 25-lap affair, followed by Mike Gilmour, Dale Millard, Mike Thomson, and Kaitlyn Wallace. Wayde Thorne was sixth once again, in front of Michael Kenny, Mike Hooper, Mark Grieve, Tyler Weale, Nikki King, and Roy Markle.

Pure Stocks

Jordan Willms dominated the first Pure Stock feature, leading all the laps en route to victory. Wayde Thorne crossed the finish line in second, but was disqualified post-race. Jo Lawrence, Gary Slama, and Chase Mitchell rounded out the top-five, in front of Spencer Riddell, Gillian Hils, Leo Labarbera, Phil Givens, and Tyler Weale.

Delaware Speedway regular Nathan Rhea cracked the top-10 at the halfway mark, but ultimately finished 11th ahead of Jeff Kells, Len Sterritt, Scott Toneli, Nicole Givens, Teagan Ellis, Rachel Mitchell, and Brady Cox. Several drivers failed to finish including Owen Brooker, Chance Rogers, Paul Huskins, Cam Thomson, and Reece Bourgeois. Sarah Weale did not take the green flag.

A familiar face won the second feature, with Phil Givens leading all 25 laps to capture the checkered flag, followed by Gillian Hils, Jordan Wilms, Gary Slama and Jo Lawrence. Wayde Thorne was sixth this time around, in front of Spencer Riddell, Chase Mitchell, Brady Cox, and Leo Labarbera.

Nathan Rhea was 11th once again, ahead of Len Sterritt, Cam Thomson, Owen Brooker, Rachel Mitchell, Teagan Ellis, and Nicole Givens. Scott Tonelli and Jeff Kells did not finish, while Sarah Weale, Chance Rogers, Paul Huskins, Reece Bourgeois, and Tyler Weale did not take the green flag.

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is taking place on Saturday, July 29 is the Gold Rush 123, featuring the Pro Late Models with $10,000 up for grabs to the winner of the event. There will also be a 40-lap invitational for the Mini Stocks and Pure Stocks – each paying $500 to the winner.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

Race Report By: Ashley McCubbin


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page