top of page

Cory Whittam Goes Three Straight in T.Q. Can-Am Midget Action at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- The fans at Flamboro Speedway are getting used to seeing the No. 55 out front, as Cory Whittam repeated the same feat as last month, scoring the feature win in Qwick Wick T.Q. Can-Am Midget action.

Brody Rickwood won the first heat followed by Jeff Blackburn, James Stanley, Cassidy March, Bob Bailey, Robert Pollillo, and Paul Harrison.

Cory Whittam was victorious in the second qualifier ahead of Dominique Smith, Daniel Hawn, David Miller, Craig Pitchell, Paul Jorgenson, Bailey Brown, and Mike Coleman, while Andrew Whelan did not finish.

Despite starting deep in the field, Cory Whittam worked his way forward rather quickly, breaking into the top-five on Lap 4. He continued to move forward, running third at the halfway mark. He would move into second shortly thereafter, before taking the lead on Lap 17. He then led the final eight laps en route to victory lane.

Daniel Hawn took over the runner-up spot at the same time, remaining there till the checkered flag in front of David Miller, Jeff Blackburn, and Craig Pitchell. Cassidy March ran just outside the top-five all race en route to sixth ahead of Paul Jorgensen and Bob Bailey. Several cars failed to finish due to mechanical issues and a couple incidents, including Mike Coleman, Dominique Smith, Robert Pollilo, James Stanley, Brody Rickwood, and Bailey Brown.

There were four cars that failed to start the feature – Andrew Whelan, Jaden Riddell, Mike Coleman, and Ryan Fraser.

Pro Late Model

A familiar face also won in Late Model action, as Chris Howse led flag-to-flag en route to winning the first feature followed by Rick Burbridge, Mat Box, Kevin Albers, and Mark Burbridge. Fresh off his first career win, Ty Cavallin placed sixth ahead of Kevin Gallant, Logan White, Trevor Thompson, Steve Laking, and David Gallinger.

Mark Burbridge took over the top spot on Lap 15 of 25 in the second feature, pacing the event the rest of the way en route to winning, followed by Kevin Albers, Kevin Gallant, Mat Box, and Chris Howse. Trevor Thompson dropped outside the top-five with three laps to go for sixth ahead of Logan White and David Gallinger. Rick Burbridge, Ty Cavallin, and Steve Laking failed to finish.

Canadian Vintage Modified

TJ Marshall continues to reign supreme in Canadian Vintage Modified action, as he swept the pair of features.

He took the lead just past the halfway mark to win the first feature followed by Ricky Willigar, Mike Podd, Quintin Murdoch, and Scott Tonelli. Jae Pepin was sixth ahead of Ian McIntyre and Steve Murdoch. Some contact on track would see Mike Westwood, Adam Ross, and Rodney Rutherford not finish.

The second 25-lap affair was harder to win, as he did not grab the top spot until two laps to go, beating Ricky Willigar to the line, followed by Quintin Murdoch, Scott Tonelli, and Ian McIntyre. Mike Westwood rebounded for sixth ahead of Steve Murdoch, Jae Pepin, and Adam Ross. Mike Podd and Rodney Rutherford failed to finish.

Mini Stock

Bobby Mercer proved he is not slowing down in Mini Stock action, leading all 20 laps en route to winning, followed by Mike Thomson, Mike Gilmour, Kaitlyn Wallace, Matt Young, and Nikki King.

Following contact between the leaders on Lap 15, Mike Thomson got the lead on the restart and did not look back en route to his first career Mini Stock feature win, followed by Bobby Mercer, Matt Young, Mile Gilmour, Kaitlyn Wallace, and Nikki Young.

Pure Stocks

The fans got to witness a fence climb after Kris Lawrence won the first Pure Stock feature ahead of Eric Stewart, Gillian Hils, Kyle Lucas, and Rick Mitchell. Reece Bourgeois continued her strong sophomore campaign with sixth, followed by Spencer Riddell, Moses Ruiz, Leo Labarbera, and Chance Rogers. Cameron Thomson was 11th ahead of Mark Thorne, Mark Allan, and Sarah Penny, while Courtney Scott and Alex Stewart failed to finish.

Taking the lead with seven laps to go, Mark Thorne led the rest of the way en route to winning, joined on the podium by Kris Lawrence and Eric Stewart. Gillian Hils and Kyle Lucas rounded out the top-five, followed by Cameron Thomson, Chance Rogers, Rick Mitchell, Moses Ruiz, and Leo Labarbera. Reece Bourgeois was 11th ahead of Mark Allan and Sarah Penny, while incidents on-track saw Courtney Scott, Alex Stewart, and Spencer Riddell fail to finish.

Shout-out to those who came out for the Cruise Night and showed off their vehicles, while taking a lap around the track. Check out the laps around the track, courtesy of Petal Power at

Canadian Vintage Modified Feature No. 2 -

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, August 27, highlighted by the Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds presented by Just Foam It with their first appearance of 2022. They will be joined by the Qwick Wick OSCAAR Hot Rods, Ontario Pro Challenge Series, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Pure Stocks.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page