top of page

David Miller Scores First Career T.Q. Can-Am Midget Feature Victory

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- While the focus was on his competitors, it’d be David Miller shocking the fans in the stands by scoring his first career Qwick Wick T.Q. Can-Am Midget feature victory on Saturday night at Flamboro Speedway.

With a front row starting spot in hand, Miller was able to grab the advantage off the drop of the green flag, and did not look back despite a couple mid-race cautions en route to the checkered flag. Cory Whittam worked his way through for a runner-up, followed by Jeff Blackburn, Jaden Riddell, and Craig Pitchell.

James Stanley kicked off his sophomore campaign with a sixth, followed by Brody Rickwood, Daniel Hawn, Cassidy March, and Mike Coleman. Roberto Polillo finished 11th, followed by Bob Bailey and Dominique Smith. Brian Woodland and Andrew Whelan failed to finish, while David Bidlake did not take the green flag.

Pro Late Models

Debuting a brand new car, J.R. Fitzpatrick proved unstoppable en route to a pair of feature victories on Saturday night at Flamboro.

He started on pole for the first feature, pulling away from Chris Howse to score the victory easily, with last week’s victor Mark Burbridge in third, followed by Kevin Albers and Ty Cavallin. Trevor Thompson and Logan White were sixth and seventh, while Steve Laking and Kevin Gallant both failed to finish.

The second feature saw Fitzpatrick move into third on the first lap, followed by taking the top spot on Lap 11 en route to another dominating victory. Chris Howse was second once again, followed by Mark Burbridge, Kevin Albers, and Steve Laking. Ty Cavallin finished sixth, followed by Trevor Thompson, Kevin Gallant, and Logan White.

Super Stocks

The dominance continues for the 2021 Qwick Wick Super Stock Champion, as Lane Zardo made it three wins in a row with another pair of trips to victory lane.

Zardo led flag-to-flag en route to the victory in feature one, followed by Roy Wilkie, Chase Pinsonneault, Randy Rusnell, Chad Corcoran, and Justin Collison.

Despite starting fourth in the second, Zardo was able to take the lead on Lap 19 and led the rest of the way en route to victory once again. Roy Wilkie placed second, followed by Justin Collison, Randy Rusnell, Chase Pinsonneault, and Chad Corcoran.

Mini Stocks

Bobby Mercer certainly has his hot rod hooked up as he wanted, putting together another pair of dominating features for three victories in a row to start 2022.

Mercer led flag-to-flag en route to the victory in feature one, followed by Shawn Taylor, Chris Pendlebury, Mike Hooper, and Mike Thomson. Kaitlyn Wallace finished sixth, followed by Roland Goodfellow and Mike Gilmour.

The second race saw him have to work his way to the front, but it did not take long with Mercer pacing the field from Lap 6 all the way to the checkered flag. Mike Gilmour finished second, followed by Shawn Taylor, Chris Pendlebury, and Mike Thomson. Kaitlyn Wallace placed sixth, followed by Mike Hooper and Roland Goodfellow.

Matt Young failed to start either feature.

Pure Stocks

The first feature of the night was all about the ladies, with three females carrying the field over the finish line. Reece Bourgeois led the way with her second career win, followed by Gillian Hils and Courtney Scott.

Teammates Alex Stewart and Wayde Thorne rounded out the top-five, followed by Craig Cole, Rodney Rutherford, Kyle Lucas, Cameron Thomson, and Nicole Stewart. Chance Rogers kicked off his 2022 campaign with an 11th, followed by Eric Stewart, Jimmy Hooper, Mark Allen, Dan Storey, and Moses Ruiz. Reuben Fluit failed to take the green flag.

Eric Stewart rebounded from his performance in the first feature in style, by winning the second 25-lap affair for his career Pure Stock victory. Craig Cole finished second, followed by Wayde Thorne, Gillian Hils, and Rodney Rutherford. Kyle Lucas was sixth, followed by Reece Bourgeois, Courtney Scott, Cameron Thomson, and Dan Storey.

Alex Stewart placed 11th, followed by Nicole Stewart, Chance Roger, Jimmy Hooper, and Moses Ruiz. Mark Allen and Reuben Fluit failed to take the green flag.

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and Shaun Lumley ( for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, May 14, with the Ontario Pro Challenge season opener headlining the show. The night will also include the Pro Late Models, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Pure Stocks. The gates open at 5pm, with racing starting at 6:30pm.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page