top of page

Flamboro Speedway Celebrates 2023 Champions at Annual Awards Banquet

ROCKTON, Ontario — Even though preparations are already in high gear for the 2024 campaign, there was still some left over business to attend to from 2023 season. This past Saturday January 27, all of the drivers and crews got together to celebrate the track champions and hand out some hardware.

With seven wins, 14 top-five’s, and an average finish of 2.0667, J.R. Fitzpatrick was able to take home the 2023 Grisdale Race Products Late Model Championship. Meanwhile, it was Scott Steckly picking up the honors in being the 2023 Grisdale Triple Crown Champion.

With 11 wins, 18 top-five’s, and an average finish of 1.722, Roy Wilkie was your 2023 Super Stock Champion.

A total of 15 wins and 21 top-five’s accumulating to an average finish of 2.43478 gave Mike Thomson the 2023 Klotz Auto Repair and Machine Shop Mini Stock Championship.

Phil Givens and Wayde Thorne shared the honor of the 2023 McClurkin Properties Cambridge Pure Stock Championship. Givens scored two wins and 12 top-five’s to an average finish of 4.5294, while Thorne picked up seven wins and 15 top-five’s to an average of 4.4737.

The 2023 Flamboro Speedway Memorial Night of Champions winners were also recognized, as well, as follows – Jordan Fidler (Pure Stock), Mike Thomson (Mini Stock), Shawn Chenoweth (Super Stock), J.R. Fitzpatrick (Late Model), Ricky Willigar (Canadian Vintage Modifieds), and Tim Norris (Ontario Pro Challenge Series). The group shared in a toast to those in the community we have lost over the past several years.

On top of the champions being honored for their accomplishments, there were several awards handed out.

Each division saw steady growth through the year with solid car counts throughout the season, including a couple first year competitors. Brady Cox took home Rookie of the Year Honors in the Pure Stocks, while Cole Quinton picked up the award for the Late Models. Both drivers were able to have success throughout the year in their respective divisions, with four top-five’s for Cox, and nine top-five’s for Quinton.

There were others who stood out simply by how their cars appeared on-track, and one driver per division was received recognition with the “Best Appearing Car” Award. The following drivers were the winners, with their division in the bracket that follows: Spencer Riddell (Pure Stock), Mike Thomson (Mini Stock), Roy Wilkie (Super Stock), and Cole Quinton (Late Model).

Another atmosphere that you always see walking through the pits is respect among competitors. There are some drivers, who stand out in that department, and each division was allowed to award their most sportsmanlike driver. The honors went to Nicole Givens (Pure Stock), Nikki King (Mini Stock), Roy Wilkie (Super Stock), and J.R. Fitzpatrick (Late Model).

Running up front weekly is everyone’s goal, and that was recognized at the banquet with each division seeing the drivers who held the most checkered flags receive a trophy of recognition. The following drivers were the winners, with their division in the bracket that follows: Phil Givens (Pure Stock), Mike Thomson (Mini Stock), Roy Wilkie (Super Stock), and J.R. Fitzpatrick (Late Model).

On the flip side, there were some drivers who battled adversity through the year with several tough occurrences. Those competitors were recognized for their perseverance with the Hard Luck Award. The following drivers were the winners, with their division in the bracket that follows: Brady Cox (Pure Stock) and Cole Quinton (Late Model).

The Perfect Attendance Award was given to the drivers that were able to run all of the nights scheduled for their division through the 2023 season.

With the banquet out of the way, the focus shifts entirely on the upcoming 2024 campaign as the full schedule was revealed at the banquet.

The full schedule, along with any other information you may inquire about, can be found on the track’s website at Be sure to keep up with the latest by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at

By: Ashley McCubbin


bottom of page