top of page

Flamboro Speedway – May 4, 2019 Recap

After a long off-season of making sure everything would be perfect for this year, it would pay off as opening night at Flamboro Speedway would go off successfully. With solid fields in each of the classes, nine different drivers experienced the thrill of victory on Saturday night.

Grisdale Racing Products Late Models

Starting seventh, Shawn Chenoweth methodically worked his way to the front, using a mid-race race restart to his advantage to pass Trevor Monaghan for the lead, pacing the rest of the way for the checkered flag. Mark Burbridge finished second, followed by Rick Burbridge, J.R. Fitzpatrick, and Kevin Albers, with Trevor Monaghan fading to sixth.

Chad Corcoran finished seventh, followed by Chris Howse, Gary Elliott, and Mike Klotz. David Gallinger finished 11th, followed by Brent Wheller, Jake Gilbert, and Tyler Di Venanzo. Hudson Nagy paced the field early, but mechanical issues took him out of the event. Billy Schwartzenburg also failed to finish, while Carson Nagy did not take the green flag.

The second feature would see J.R. Fitzpatrick carefully work his way through the field, taking the lead just past the halfway mark en route to the checkered flag. Kevin Albers escaped the chaos ahead of him en route to a runner-up performance. Hudson Nagy and Trevor Monaghan battled right to the checkered flag for third, including some considerable contact through turn four.

Rick Burbridge finished fifth, followed by Chad Corcoran, Gary Elliott, Mark Burbridge, Brent Wheller, and Chris Howse. Jake Gilbert finished 11th, followed by Tyler Di Venanzo, Carson Nagy, and Mike Klotz. Shawn Chenoweth was ready to make his way up through, but contact from in the early stages resulted in him making significant contact with the outside backstretch wall. Billy Schwartzenburg failed to finish, while David Gallinger did not take the green flag. First Feature Video: Second Feature Video:

Ray’s Towing and Recovery Super Stocks

Starting on the front, Brad Collison was able to hold off a race-long challenge by Randy Rusnell to score the first victory of the season. The battle for third was close throughout the duration of the feature as well, with Kelsey Lamont holding off Kevin Gallant and Nick Troback. Robert Richardson and A.J. Miller rounded out the field.

After going around for a quick spin in the first feature, Nick Troback turned his luck around in the second event as he held off Collison to score the victory. Richardson crossed the finish line in third, but was penalized post-race. Rusnell was credited with third ahead of Gallant, Miller, and Lamont. First Feature Video:

Klotz Auto Repair and Engine Machine Shop Mini Stocks

Jake Watson would put the No. 88 Mustang out front in the first feature, cruising away to secure the victory. Karl Sault and Andy Kamrath battled through the final laps for the runner-up spot, with Kamrath taking a trip through the field grass en route to placing third. Shawn Taylor finished fourth, followed by Kyle Istead, Tyler Lewis, Matt Young, Jonathan Ayrton, Rich Schwartzenburg and Will Gibbons.

Kyle Steckly finished 11th, followed by Gillian Hils, Kyle DaSilva, Allie Ditner, John Morrison, and Mike Hooper. Dylan Sharpe and Wayde Thorne failed to finish due to mechanical issues, while Michael Kenny made significant contact with the backstretch wall to end his night early. Kaitlyn Wallace would suffer a post-race penalty.

The fast cars would start deep in the field for the second feature, weaving their way through traffic with Karl Sault taking the lead just past halfway. He would hold on the rest of the event to take the checkered flag. Jake Watson finished second, followed by Will Gibbons, who led the opening laps. Andy Kamrath finished fourth, followed by Shawn Taylor, Kyle Istead, Tyler Lewis, Matt Young, Dylan Sharpe, and Rich Schwartzenburg.

Kaitlyn Wallace finished 11th, followed by Kyle DaSilva, Jonathan Ayrton, Kyle Steckley, John Morrison, Gillian Hils, Mike Hooper, and Wayde Thorne. Allie Ditner failed to finish, while Michael Kenny did not take the green flag. Second Feature Video:

McClurkin Properties Pure Stocks

Making the haul from London, Jordan Morris started off his season on a high by winning the opening feature ahead of Leo Labarbera. David Rockwood crossed the finish line in third, but was disqualified post-race. Derek Jackson would be credited with fourth ahead of Bobby Mercer. Kyle Neumeister was also disqualified post-race, handing sixth over to Andy Wheller ahead of Mark Dennis, Steve DeLeeuw, Phil Givens, Jared Bodnar, and Chris Pendlebury.

RJ Croteau got credited with 11th, followed by John Lavelle, Courtney Scott, Matt McCraig, Brad Lavalle, and Andrew Packer. Jeff Kells crossed the finish line in 19th, but was disqualified post-race. As a result, Brody Bowen got credited with 17th. Jimmy Hooper, Clinton Kerhoff and Jeff Laflamme failed to finish, while Brian Gamble was disqualified.

Following the disqualification in the first event, Kyle Neumeister started deep in the field for the second event. He would make his way through, battling three-wide at times, taking the lead in the second half to pick up the win. However, he was once again disqualified in post-race.

As a result, Leo Labarbera got credited with the victory ahead of Jordan Morris, Andy Wheller, Phil Givens, Bobby Mercer, Mark Dennis, Chris Pendlebury, Courtney Scott, RJ Croteau, and Brad Lavalle. John Lavalle finished 11th, followed by Matt McCraig, Jimmy Hooper, Jared Bodner, Jeff Kells, Andrew Packer, Brody Bowen, and Brian Gamble.

Derek Jackson led the first half of the second feature, but contact with the wall and another car while battling three-wide with Neumeister ended his night. David Rockwood and Steve DeLeeuw both failed to finish, while Clinton Kerkhoff and Jeff Laflamme did not take the green flag. Second Feature Video:

Pro 4 Modifieds

Picking up where he left off last year, Mark Lucas won the first feature ahead of Dave Hodgkinson, Mike Westwood, Dan Petit, Shannon Morris, Cliff Hodgkinson, and Rob McKinley.

Mark Lucas then avoided the incident ahead of him to score the victory in the second event ahead of Mike Westwood, Cliff Hodgkinson, and Shannon Morris. Through the beginning stages of the event, Dave Hodgkinson and Dan Petit battled for the lead, but contact took them both out of the event. Rob McKinley also filed to take the checkered flag. Second Feature Video:

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for all the videos. Please subscribe to her YouTube channel at

Thanks to Derek Smith for all of his photos. Please check out more at

The season is just getting started at Flamboro Speedway. The second night of competition on Saturday, May 11 will feature the Pro Late Models, Ontario Pro Challenge Series, Canadian Vintage Modifieds, Lucas Oil Can-Am

Midgets season opener, and Pure Stocks.

The front gates open at 5 pm, with racing getting underway at 6:30 pm.

Gate details and admission prices, along with the full schedule for Flamboro Speedway this season can be found on the track’s website at

Be sure to keep up with the latest by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page