top of page

Kyle Steckly Utilizes Late-Race Pass for APC Victory at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- The 2021 Flamboro Speedway Pro Late Model Champion proved he can get it done on the big stage once again, as Kyle Steckly won Saturday’s APC United Late Models of Ontario 100-lap feature at Flamboro Speedway.

Taking the green flag from seventh, the second-generation racer kept himself inside of the top-10 from the drop of the green flag, pacing himself for the final laps. He was able to continually work his way forward, taking over the runner-up spot at Lap 55. From there on, he kept himself within striking distance of his APC sponsored teammate, ready to make his move. The opportunity came with just two laps on the board, as Steckly took the top spot and led the rest of the way en route to checkered.

Shae Gemmell scored a season-best runner-up, while Danny Benedict overcame a parts failure in practice for a third-place finish. Grisdale Triple Crown Points Leader J.R. Fitzpatrick and Josh Stade rounded out the top-five. Dale Shaw surprisingly qualified outside of the top-10, though was able to make his way forward to finish sixth, followed by Rick Spencer-Walt, Andrew Gresel, Tom Gibbons, and Gord Shepherd.

Matt Pritiko surprisingly ran outside of the top-10 all race long en route to 11th, followed by Jordan Howse, Treyten Lapcevich, Erik Dalla Riva, Billy Schwartzenburg, James Horner, and Jade Franklin.

Ryan Kimball was the quickest in time trials, and led 29 laps, though fell out of the race following brake issues. Shawn Chenoweth, Jake Sheridan, and Blair Wickett also failed to finish.

In the Qwick Wick T.Q. Can-Am Midgets, Cory Whittam kept the momentum rolling, following his Sunset Speedway victory with another checkered flag at Flamboro. Daniel Hawn’s impressive sophomore campaign continues with a runner-up, followed by Dominique Smith, Jaden Riddell, and David Miller.

Paul Harrison was sixth, followed by James Stanley, Craig Pitchell, Andrew Whelan, and Brody Rickwood. Cassidy March returned to the series with an 11th in front of Bob Bailey and Robert Pollilo, while Mike Westwood and Jeff Blackburn failed to finish.

The string of success continues for Shawn Taylor in the Mini Stocks, as he scored his fourth consecutive victory. Taylor did not go without challenge, though, as he had to fight off his competitors on a couple occasions to hold the top spot. Cole Quinton picked up his third straight runner-up, followed by Mike Thomson, Kyle Neumeister, and Chris Pendlebury.

Michael Kenny returned to Flamboro with a sixth ahead of Bobby Mercer, Mike Hooper, RJ Croteau, and Dave Goodacre. Kaitlyn Wallace failed to finish following a tire failure, while Cole Burrows did not take the green flag for the feature after motor issues. Nikki King also failed to start the main event.

The entire night of racing was broadcast live on the G Force Network as part of their alignment with the APC Series and can be watched by going to

Petal Power, who regularly does videos for the speedway, was also in attendance and has uploaded their videos.

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, July 23, highlighted by the Pro Late Models. The Canadian Vintage Modifieds return after two weeks off, alongside the Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Pure Stocks.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page