top of page

Mark Burbridge and Lane Zardo Crowned Champions at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- As everyone celebrated the heroes from the past with Memorial Night and the post-race Corn / Hot Rod roast, a pair of drivers got to add themselves to Flamboro Speedway’s history books as champions. Mark Burbridge earned the 2022 Pro Late Model Championship, while Lane Zardo secured the 2022 Super Stock title.

Ontario Sportsman Series

While eyes focused on the home track points battles, there was also a visitor in town with the Ontario Sportsman Series. After a dominating performance earlier this season, Todd Shepherd showed the same speed once again laying down the quickest lap in time trials at 16.318 seconds.

He carried the momentum into their feature, securing the victory in front of Kevin Trevellin, Doug Cathcart, Chad McGlynn, Michael Hryniuk Jr., Shawn Payne, Connor James, Mark Patrick, Sean Mangin, and Kevin Lay. Nick Clarke placed 11th driving in place of Tim Tolton ahead of Brendan Patrick, while Chris Sherrah and Lane Zardo failed to finish.

The second feature saw Connor James work his way to the front in his return to the series, picking up the checkered flag. Kevin Trevellin was the runner-up once again, which was enough for him to be crowned the 2022 Ontario Sportsman Series Champion. Todd Shepherd backed up his win with a third, while Doug Cathcart and Sean Mangin rounded out the top-five, followed by Chad McGlynn, Michael Hryniuk Jr., Mark Patrick, Nick Clarke, and Brendan Patrick. Shawn Payne and Kevin Lay were next in line, while Chris Sherrah, Brad Robinson, and Lane Zardo did not take the checkered.

Pro Late Models

As part of Memorial Night, the home track divisions ran a qualifying heat(s) and extended distance feature, with the line-up set heads-up to qualifying.

Mark Burbridge secured the pole in the Pro Late Models by winning the first heat, followed by Kevin Albers, Rick Burbridge, Ty Cavallin, Kevin Gallant, and Jake Gilbert.

Shawn Chenoweth set himself up for the front row by picking up the checkered in the second qualifier, ahead of Chris Howse, Trevor Thompson, Logan White, Kayden Wright, and David Gallinger.

Being able to start up front was critical for Shawn Chenoweth, as he led flag-to-flag in the 30 lap feature for the victory in front of Mark Burbridge, Chris Howse, Rick Burbridge, Trevor Thompson, Ty Cavallin, Kevin Gallant, Logan White, Jake Gilbert, Kayden Wright, and David Gallinger, while Kevin Albers failed to finish.

Super Stocks

Justin Collison won the single heat for the Super Stocks, followed by Chase Pinsoneault, Roy Wilkie, Lane Zardo, Brandon Feeney, Brody Rickwood, Randy Rusnell, and Austin Penney, with Steve Cashmore failing to finish.

Although Collison led the first seven laps of the feature, Chase Pinsonneault made his way to pace the remaining 18 laps for the victory. Justin Collison held on for second, ahead of Brandon Feeney, Randy Rusnell, and Steve Cashmore. There were some incidents, with Roy Wilkie, Lane Zardo, Brody Rickwood, and Austin Penney.

Mini Stocks

Bobby Mercer won the single heat for the Mini Stocks, in front of Wayde Thorne, Mike Thomson, and Kyle Istead, with Dustin Goodfellow receiving a disqualification. Nikki King crossed the finish line in sixth ahead of Roland Goodfellow and Kaitlyn Wallace, with Mike Gilmour also disqualified.

Bobby Mercer carried the momentum to the feature, pacing the field flag-to-flag en route to picking up another victory as he inches closer to the championship. He did not have it easy, though, as he was heavily challenged through the duration of the race by both Wayde Thorne and Mike Thomson. Kyle Istead and Kaitlyn Wallace rounded out the top-five, ahead of Nikki King.

Pure Stocks

Pure Stock points leader Reece Bourgeois won their first heat, ahead of Mark Thorne, Mike Etsell, Spencer Riddell, Moses Ruiz, Chance Rogers, Mark Allan, Teagan Ellis, and Alex Stewart.

Past track champion Gillian Hils was victorious in the second qualifier, in front of Cameron Thomson, Kyle Lucas, Rick Mitchell, Jack Dickson, Nic Ramsay, Courtney Scott, Nicole Givens, and Caroline Kelly.

David Rockwood, whose shown speed across the province, picking up the checkered flag in the final heat, followed by Phil Givens, Eric Stewart, Matt Young, Leo Labarbera, Austin Etsell, Rick Van Kleef, and Daphne Sullivan.

The front row starting spot was all Gillian Hils needed, as she led all 25 laps en route to returning to Flamboro Speedway feature victory lane. Reece Bourgeois kept her solid campaign going with a runner-up, with David Rockwood was disqualified after placing third. Eric Stewart and Kyle Lucas rounded out the top-five, ahead of Phil Givens, Jack Dickson, Spencer Riddell, Nic Ramsay, and Moses Ruiz.

Past track champion Leo Labarbera placed 11th, in front of Matt Young, Rick Mitchell, Cameron Thomson, Nicole Givens, Chance Rogers, Alex Stewart, Teagan Ellis, Courtney Scott, and Austin Etsell. Mark Allan was 21st in one of the biggest fields of the season, ahead of Caroline Kelly and Daphne Sullivan, while Mark Thorne, Rick VanKleef, and Mike Etsell failed to finish.

Ontario Pro Challenge

The Norris stranglehold on the Ontario Pro Challenge Series continued, with the father-son sweeping the night.

Starting in the back half of the field, Mike Norris made his way forward to take the lead on Lap 14, and did not look back from there on for the win. Peter Hattin placed second, followed by Emma Norris, Ethan Fleet, Tim Norris, Rodney Rutherford, Travis Majuery, Nolan Quinton, Mike O’Connell, and Jae Pepin.

The invert saw Tim Norris start on the front row, which he took advantage off by pacing the field from Lap 2 on for the victory, in front of Mike Norris, Rodney Rutherford, Travis Majuery, Peter Hattin, Ethan Fleet, Emma Norris, and Mike O’Connell. Nolan Quinton and Jae Pepin failed to finish.

With feature victories throughout the season, Mike Norris was crowned the 2022 Ontario Pro Challenge Series Champion.

Ontario Sportsman Series Feature No. 1 -

Ontario Sportsman Series Feature No. 2 -

Ontario Pro Challenge Feature No. 1 -

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

Thanks to Kevin Gallant, Brad Collison, and BAST Safety & Emergency team for helping make Memorial Night special for the drivers and fans this past Saturday night.

This coming weekend at Flamboro Speedway on Saturday, September 17, the track will be hosting a Go-Kart Special event.

The next event at the oval for the stock cars is scheduled for Saturday, September 24, with the champions set to be crowned the rest of the home track divisions, as well as the Qwick Wick T.Q. Can-Am Midgets. The action will include the Canadian Vintage Modifieds, Canadian Legend Car Series, Mini Stocks, and Pure Stocks.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page