top of page

Morphy, Hils, Mercer, Pettit Crowned Flamboro Speedway Champions

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- For the second straight weekend in a row, crowning champions was the name of the game for Flamboro Speedway, with four new names writing their names in track history.

Qwick Wick T.Q. Can-Am Midgets

After the second qualifying heat, Cory Whittam wasted no time in the feature, taking the lead on the second lap and not looking back en route to scoring the victory in front of Darren McLennan. Jeff Blackburn followed up his victory from Sunset Speedway last weekend with a third, which was enough to clinch the 2021 Qwick Wick T.Q. Can-Am Midget Championship.

Darren Dryden and Daniel Hawn rounded out the top-five, followed by Brody Rickwood, Dominique Smith, Paul Harrison, Paul Jorgenson, and Luc Munsie. Craig Pitchell finished 11th ahead of Mike Colman, and Bob Bailey. David Miller placed 14th after winning the opening heat, while Cassidy March and Paul Smith did not start the feature.

Canadian Vintage Modifieds

A past series champion, TJ Marshall made another trip to victory lane to start the night for the CVMs at Flamboro in front of Jerrid Morphy, Quinton Murdoch, Joe Arsenault, and Connor Ross. Jeff Kells placed sixth, followed by Robert Guy and Jae Pepin.

It was a rough night, with mechanical issues and a wreck taking out several competitors as Mike Westwood, Jake Gilbert, Rick Willigar, Mike Podd, Steve Murdoch, and Devon Reyment failed to finish.

2021 Rookie of the Year Quinton Murdoch capped off his year in style, making his way to the front to win the second race in front of Rick Willigar. Jerrid Morphy placed third, which was enough to be crowned co-champion of the Canadian Vintage Modifieds with his partner Jeremy Riopelle by 14 points.

TJ Marshall drove through the field for a fourth as Jake Gilbert rounded out the top-five, followed by Mike Podd, Connor Ross, Robert Guy, Jae Pepin, and Jeff Kells. Joe Arsenault and Steve Murdoch failed to finish, while Mike Westwood and Devon Reyment did not take the green flag.

Mini Stocks

2021 Mini Stock Champion Gillian Hils capped off her season in style, winning the first feature in front of Karl Sault, Cole Quinton, Matt Young, and Dale Millard. Shawn Taylor finished sixth, followed by Kyle Istead, Mike Gilmour, Kaitlyn Wallace, and Mike Hooper. Mike Kenny placed 11th, while Dave Goodacre, Cole Burrows, and Mike Norris failed to finish due to issues.

2019 Mini Stock Champion Karl Sault proved he is still fast, making his way through the field to win the second event in front of Mike Gilmour, Gillian Hils, Dale Millard, and Matt Young. Kyle Istead placed sixth ahead of Mike Hooper, Cole Quinton, Mike Kenny, and Shawn Taylor. Mike Norris placed 11th, while Kaitlyn Wallace, Dave Goodacre, and Cole Burrows did not take the green flag.

In a season that featured a couple trips to victory lane, Cole Quinton took home the 2021 Rookie of the Year honors.

Pure Stocks

Jeff Laflamme made the trip to Flamboro with his home track’s season being complete, crossing the finish line first in the opening feature. Unfortunately, he was disqualified following the event in tech lane, as well as Spencer Riddell who was initially third.

James Houghton, who crossed the finish line in second, got scored the winner in front of Matt Langford, Bobby Mercer, Reece Bourgeois, and Wayde Thorne. Scott Tonelli placed sixth ahead of Rick VanKleef, Courtney Scott, Leo Labarbera, and Megan Mitchell. Nicole Stewart was 11th, followed by Roland Gooodfellow, Alex Stewart, Dale Lucas, Phil Givens and Karl Sault; notably, Givens was turned into the backstretch wall to end his feature only. Also, Kyle Lucas did not take the green flag.

The invert would not phase James Houghton, as he escaped the chaos on the opening lap of the feature to drive through the pack to sweep the night. Wayde Thorne finished second, followed by Bobby Mercer. The pair of third-place finishes proved to be magical, as Bobby Mercer was crowned the 2021 Pure Stock Champion. Kyle Lucas drove his way to a fourth, followed by Matt Langford, Scott Toenlli, Rolland Goodfellow, Nicole Stewart, Leo Labarbera, and Dale Lucas.

The first lap would see lots of contact, beginning with Mitchell getting into Stewart going into turn one, followed by getting up into the outside wall and spinning Reece Bourgeois on the backstretch. VanKleef then got into Mitchell, resulting in her hitting the outside turn turn wall. As a result of the slew of contact and more, Reece Bourgeois, Rick VanKleef, Courtney Scott, Megan Mitchell, and Alex Stewart did not take the checkered flag. Following the first event, Jeff Laflamme, Spencer Riddell, Phil Givens and Karl Sault did not take the green flag for the second race.

Even though the final night of the year did not go as she planned, Reece Bourgeois was awarded the 2021 Rookie of the Year honors.

Pro 4 Modifieds

Dan Pettit opened the night in victory lane by winning the first event en route to securing the 2021 Pro 4 Modified Championship in front of Shannon Morris, Vic Devries, and Mark Lucas. Andrew Snyder failed to finish, while Shean Carey did not take the green flag.

Mark Lucas was the man in the second event, picking up the checkered flag in front of Dan Pettit and Shannon Morris. Only three cars ran the event as Vic Devries, Andrew Snyder, and Shean Carey did not take the green flag.

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and Shaun Lumley ( for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is the Frostoberfest weekend year-end special on Saturday, October 2 and Sunday, October 3.

Saturday, October 2 will include 40 laps for the Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds presented by Just Foam It, 30 laps for Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rods, 20 laps for the Ontario Pro Sprints, 30 laps for the Ontario Legends Series, and 50 laps for the Mini Stocks, plus the Junior Late Models and Junior Trucks. The spectator gates will open at 12 pm, with racing starting at 2:30 p.m.

Sunday, October 3 is the season finale for the Grisdale Triple Crown, which sees Multi-time Champion Shawn Chenoweth and 2019 Triple Crown Champion Shae Gemmell enter the weekend tied atop the standings following the first two events, just six markers ahead of 2021 Flamboro Speedway Late Model Champion Kyle Steckly. The trio will battle in a 100-lap season finale, which will also include some of the best drivers in the province in the field.

The Sunday event also includes the Outlaw Super Late Models for 50 laps, Super Stocks for 50 laps, and Pure Stocks for 40 laps.

Notably, the competitors in the Pure Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Super Stocks will be vying for the coveted igloos, with their races put on by London Recreational Racing.

Tickets will be sold for each race day separately – same pricing each day, and available at the gate for purchase at the front gate with no online advance says. Tickets will be $30.00 for adults, $25.00 for seniors 65 and older, and $5.00 for children age six to 12. There is also a family ticket available for $65.00 which includes two adults and up to four children. Please note HST is included in those prices.

Just a reminder, the Halloween Enduro and Demolition Derby will follow on Saturday, October 23.

Also, closing out the 2021 season is a Monster Truck Show on October 30, hosted by Wadded Up Monster Truck Tour. You can check out ticket sales at

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at  and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Ο σχολιασμός έχει απενεργοποιηθεί.
bottom of page