top of page

Tim Norris Sweeps Ontario Pro Challenge Series Features at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario --- Even though Tim Norris has taken a new role with Flamboro Speedway as the Race Director, he has not forgotten how to get the job done behind the wheel in the process. He would open up the Ontario Pro Challenge Series season in style, sweeping the pair of features on Saturday night.

He wasted no time in the first feature, taking the top spot on Lap 8 and not looking back en route to the checkered flag. His son Mike Norris finished second, followed by Peter Hattin, Devon Rayment, and Emma Norris. Jae Peppin placed sixth, while Travis Majuery, Mike O’Connell, and Ethan Fleet failed to finish.

The second feature was a Norris family affair once again, with Mike Norris following his father Tim across the finish line once again. Peter Hattin was third in front of Devon Rayment, Travis Majuery, Jae Peppin, and Emma Norris, while Mike O’Connell and Ethan Fleet failed to finish.

Late Models

The hard work in the shop paid off for Shawn Chenoweth as he debuted the new car in style with a trip to victory lane. Kevin Albers continued his success with a runner-up, followed by Chris Howse, Steve Laking, and Mark Burbridge. Billy Schwartzenburg finished sixth, followed by Ty Cavallin, Trevor Thompson, Logan White, and Kevin Gallant.

The invert worked in Billy Schwartzenburg’s favor as he took advantage of the track position en route to winning in front of Mark Burbridge, Chris Howse, Steve Laking, and Ty Cavallin. Shawn Chenoweth wound up sixth, followed by Trevor Thompson and Kevin Gallant, while Kevin Albers failed to finish and Logan White did not take the green flag.

Super Stock

After coming oh so close a couple weeks ago, Randy Rusnell put the pieces together to reach victory lane in the first feature on Saturday in front of Lane Zardo, Chase Pinsonneault, Justin Collison, Steve Cashmore, and Brandon Feeney. Roy Wilkie, Chad Corcoran, and Ken Grubb failed to finish.

Lane Zardo continued his winning ways, though, making four victories in five races with another in front of Roy Wilkie, Randy Rusnell, Justin Collison, Chase Pinsonneault, Brandon Feeney, and Steve Cashmore. Chad Corcoran failed to finish, while Ken Grubb did not take the green flag.

Mini Stock

There’s only five features in the books, but a clear favourite has been established as Bobby Mercer once again swept another night of racing at Flamboro Speedway.

Despite starting deep in the field for the first feature, Bobby Mercer worked his way to the front, taking the top spot on Lap 5 and not looking back the rest of the way. Mike Gilmour finished second, followed by Chris Pendlebury, Cole Burrows, and Mike Thomson. Mike Hooper placed sixth, followed by Kaitlyn Wallace, Matt Young, Patrick Farrow,a nd Dave Goodacre. Unfortunately, Rodney Rutherford and Tyler Lewis failed to finish, while Sandy Eccles and Michael Kenny did not take the green flag.

The invert for the second 25-lap affair did not phase Bobby Mercer, as he once again worked his way to the front for another victory. This time, Matt Young finished second followed by Mike Gilmour, Mike Thomson, and Cole Burrows. Mike Hooper placed sixth, followed by Chris Pendlebury and Dave Goodacre. Kaitlyn Wallace did not finish after blowing the motor, while Patrick Farrow, Rodney Rutherford, Tyler Lewis, Sandy Eccles, and Michael Kenny did not take the green flag.

Pure Stocks

The ladies continue to shine in Millgrove, Ontario, as they would sweep the pair of features.

Reece Bourgeois led flag-to-flag en route to winning the first 25-lap affair ahead of Gillian Hils, Cameron Thomson, Kyle Lucas, and Leo Labarbera. Moses Ruiz finished sixth, followed by Chance Rogers, RIc kVanKleef, Teagan Ellis, and Courtney Scott. Unfortunately, Jimmy Hooper and Nick Clarke failed to finish.

Courtney Scott started deep in the field for the second feature, but worked her way into the top-five around Lap 13, followed by taking the top spot a couple laps later. From there on, she held the advantage till the checkered flag in front of Reece Bourgeois, Kyle Lucas, Rick VanKleef, and Cameron Thomson. Jimmy Hooper finished sixth, followed by Chance Rogers, Moses Ruiz, and Teagan Ellis. Nick Clarke, Leo Labarbera, and Gillian Hils failed to finish.

Thanks to Derek Smith (, Peter Anderson (, and Shaun Lumley ( for their images of the racing action each week.

Thanks to Ingrid Hartman for filming each week. Be sure to check out her videos at

The next event at Flamboro Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, May 21, with the Ontario Sportsman Series headlining the show as they look to kick off their 2022 season. They will be joined by the Canadian Vintage Modifieds, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, Pure Stocks, Pro 4 Modifieds, and Spectator Drag Races. Racing will kick off at 6:30 pm sharp.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

By: Ashley McCubbin


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page