top of page

Tyler Hawn Scores Bill Zardo Memorial Victory at Flamboro Speedway

MILLGROVE, Ontario — Leading all 46 laps of the Bill Zardo Memorial, Tyler Hawn won the opening feature of the season for the JRS Auctions OSCAAR Hot Rods at Flamboro Speedway.

JRS Auctions OSCAAR Hot Rods

The past series multi-time champion showed speed in qualifying with finishes of first and second, setting him up to start on the front row for the 46-lap feature. He wasted no time putting the No. 2 Monte Carlo out in front of the field, stretching his advantage over the field. He then drove away on the pair of restarts to score the win and visit McColl Racing Enterprises victory lane.

Bromley made the move on Lap 11 to move into second, and held off a hard-charge from Kenny McNicol behind him in the closing laps for a podium finish. Inaugural Event winner Cole Weber and past series champion Steve Book round out the top-five..

Trevor Thompson was fast once again with a sixth ahead of Steve Ecker and Dave Evison Sr.

Several drivers suffered mechanical failures throughout as David Rockwood’s debut of the Trans-Am saw him place ninth after falling out of the event on Lap 23. McCaw blew a motor on Lap 20 to place 10th, with Connor Ellis and Travis Farrow getting into the turn one wall in the process.

Ryan Cowan suffered a motor failure on Lap 10 to place 13th, with Hailey McNicol and Thomas Wunsch both failing to take the green flag.

Heat victories presented by Bromley Automotive went to Kenny McNicol, Tyler Hawn, Rob Bromley, and Steve McCaw.

Just Foam It OSCAAR Modifieds

Steve Trendall would lead the field to green, but it was Jason Keen asserting his advantage out front in putting the No. 18 into the top spot early in the event. T.J Edwards quickly made his way up to second a couple laps later, with his sights set on challenging for the lead.

Keen and Edwards are no strangers to the series, having battled for the championship just last season with Keen coming out on top. While Edwards was able to close the gap and get to the back bumper of the No. 18, he was never able to make his way by for the top spot.

It marks Keen’s second trip to Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC victory lane at Flamboro, following a victory there in 2022. Edwards was the runner-up for the second consecutive event, with Chris Milwain making the late-race pass on Brad Pearsall to complete the podium.

Trendell held on for fifth ahead of Dale Reinhart, Ryan Dick, Shane Pollock, Wally Wilson, and Dave Mathers. Mathers only completed seven laps due to an oil leak sending him pit side early.

Heat wins presented by Bromley Automotive went to Pearsall (x2), Reinhart, and Edwards.

Canadian Vintage Modifieds

Rodney Rutherford took the lead on Lap 5 to win the first feature ahead of Mike Podd, TJ Marshall, Ricky Willigar, and Quinton Murdoch. Maddux Pepin had one of his best finishes in sixth in front of his father Jae Pepin, Steve Murdoch, Scott Toneli, and Samantha Trewolla.

Ricky Willigar took the lead with five laps to go to win the second feature ahead of Rodney Rutherford, TJ Marshall, Quinton Murdoch, and Mike Podd. Maddux Pepin was sixth once again, while Samantha Trewolla failed to finish. Scott Toneli, Steve Murdoch, and Jae Pepin did not take the green flag.

Mini Stocks

Bobby Mercer led all 20 laps en route to winning the first feature ahead of his Blue Streak Contracting teammate Matt Young, Mike Thomson, Mike Gilmour, and Kaitlyn Wallace. Kris Lawrence’s first mini stock start of the year placed him sixth in front of Nikki King and Rory Markle.

Mike Gilmour paced all 20 laps to score the victory in the second feature ahead of Shawn Taylor, who missed the first feature due to racing at Sunset Speedway earlier that same day. Matt Young completed the podium in front of Mike Thomson and Kaitlyn Wallace. Kris Lawrence was sixth once again, followed by Nikki King, while Bobby Mercer failed to finish. Rory Markle did not start the second feature.

Pure Stocks

Craig Cole kept the winning going, with his third victory in a row in front of Phil Givens, Spencer Riddell, Wayde Thorne, and Cam Thomson. Mark Allan fell out of the top-five in the closing laps to place sixth ahead of Chase Mitchell, Leo Labarbera, Dan Storey, and Gary Slama.

Chance Rogers was 11th, followed by Allen Mattice, Brady Cox, Rick Mitchell, Chris Burrows, Megan Mitchell, Mac Ingram, Jake Hambly, and Mark Hall. Ryan McNicol, Hailey Hill, Owen Brooker, Rachel Mitchell, Jordan Wilms and Sarah Penny failed to finish.

Gary Slama grabbed the top spot on Lap 6 to win the second feature in front of Chance Rogers, Wayde Thorne, Brady Cox, and Craig Cole. Spencer Riddell battled his way into the top-10 for sixth ahead of Phil Givens, Dan Storey, Leo Labarbera, Rick Mitchell.

Cam Thomson battled around 10th all night en route to an 11th-place finish, followed by Allen Mattice, Mark Allan, Jordan Wilms, Mac Ingram, Chris Burrows, Ryan McNicol, Sarah Penny, Hailey Hill, and Owen Brooker. Chase Mitchell, Megan Mitchell, Jake Hambly, Mark Hall, and Rachel Mitchell failed to finish.

The next stock car racing event at Flamboro Speedway is taking place on Saturday, June 8 with the Spectra Premium 100 for the United Racing Series’ APC Auto Parts Late Models. They will be joined by the Qwick Wick Can-Am T.Q. Midgets and Pure Stocks.

Be sure to keep up with the latest by checking out Flamboro Speedway’s website at You can also keep up via your favorite social networking website by following the speedway on Twitter at and Instagram at Fans are encouraged to like the speedway’s Facebook page at

Report By: Ashley McCubbin


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page